Trying to understand Navigation

Sep 3, 2010 at 6:32 PM

Hello,

I am really new to caliburn micro (no prev caliburn experience) and fairly new to MVVM. I am trying to understand how the navigation works in Micro.

I am using MEF as the bootstrapper like in the example.

My shellview has one contentcontrol. The shellviewmodel is a Conductor<IScreen>, IShell.ViewModel.

<Grid>
        <StackPanel>
            <TextBlock Text="{Binding Title}" FontSize="18" Margin="5 0 5 5" />
            <ContentControl x:Name="MyContent" cal:View.Model="{Binding Path=MyContentViewModel}" />
        </StackPanel>
    </Grid>

[Export(typeof(IShellViewModel))]
    [Export(typeof(ShellViewModel))]
    public class ShellViewModel : Conductor<IScreen>, IShellViewModel
    {
        [Import(typeof(IRegionViewModel))]
        public IRegionViewModel MyContentViewModel { get; set; }

The content once set with the right view model has a listview. When the user clicks a listviewitem I want to navigate them to another viewmodel/view.

[Export(typeof(IRegionViewModel))]
    public class RegionViewModel : Conductor<IScreen>, IRegionViewModel, IScreen
    {
        [Import(typeof(ShellViewModel))]
        private ShellViewModel ShellVM { get; set; }

In my action method for the selectionchanged, I create the new viewmodel, set properties on it and then call ActivateItem(freshViewModel). But nothing happens after this.

<ListView x:Name="SubRegions"
                  cal:Message.Attach="[Event SelectionChanged] = [Action ShowSubRegion(SubRegions.SelectedValue)]">

public void ShowSubRegion(Region selValue)
        {
            if (selValue == null) return;
            var regionVM = new RegionViewModel();
            regionVM.RegionToShow = selValue;
            var screen = regionVM as IScreen;
            //ActivateItem(regionVM);
            ShellVM.ActivateItem(screen);
        }
In this case, I want to bring up the sameviewmodel with different region.