AvalonDock and Loading Views/ViewModels in code

Oct 21, 2010 at 2:10 PM

I'm still new to WPF/CM, so if I'm heading down the wrong path here please let me know.

I'm building an app that will make heavy use of AvalonDock.  My initial plan was to setup the DockablePanels, DocumentPanes, etc. in the view, with ContentControls inside pointing to each panel's respective ViewModel/View.  The problem is that there is an issue with AvalonDock's ItemsSource binding, so if you try to bind a BindableCollection to a DocumentPane's ItemsSource and then change anything in that BindableCollection then you get an exception having to do with ItemsSource being in use.  From looking at their forums, that seems like a common issue when using AvalonDock in an MVVM app.

Instead my new plan is to build a Layout Manager that manages the AvalonDock DockingManager (handles creating all tabs/panels).  This isn't too difficult, my main issue is that I need to load Views/ViewModels in code and insert them as the Content for the generated Panels.  What is the best way to do that in CM?

Thanks!

Coordinator
Oct 21, 2010 at 2:38 PM

First, let me say that your approach is a good one. Typically in these advanced MDI scenarios with dockable windows, the standard databinding approach won't work. This is not a problem unique to AvalonDock.  In this case, I normally switch to a Supervising Controller pattern at the shell level, while continuing to use MVVM for the individual screens, tool windows, menus, etc.  To start putting these pieces together in code, have a look at the  ViewLocator and the ViewModelBinder. You may also want to look at how the WindowManager and the View.Model attached property are implemented to get some ideas. I think you can probably port some code from those places into your DockManager service. Let me know if you have any questions along the way.

Nov 12, 2010 at 8:23 PM