WP7 + CM + Simple Databinding

Nov 9, 2010 at 3:19 AM
Edited Nov 9, 2010 at 3:33 PM

Hi -

I have created Page1.xaml, it is a PhoneApplicationPage.

It has a corresponding viewmodel, Page1ViewModel which extends the CM.Screen.

I have a simple user control called uc1.xaml.

In Page1.xaml I have a ListBox, <ListBox x:Name="TestList" ItemsSource="{Binding=...}"/>

Assuming i want one way binding and I want to bind to a Property on the Page1ViewModel creating instances of uc1 to put inside the listbox,what would the binding look like if the name of the property is ActiveUserControls?

I realize this is a basic binding question but i'm new to silverlight and wp7 development.  I'm looking at the ViewModelBinder.BindProperties method and the ConventionManager but it is not making much sense to me.

Thanks - 

Nov 9, 2010 at 4:14 AM
Edited Nov 9, 2010 at 4:14 AM

Looking at the CM.ConventionManager class  I see the ItemsControl (which ListBox extends) is being added in the Constructor.    I can see the Loaded string being set for the event name.   I realize the DataContext is the ViewModel but I still can't figure out what the property on the ViewModel should be called and what type it should be.   Essentially I want to bind the listbox to a List<uc1> items.  

I come from the Windows Forms world - you know the simple binding world.  :-)

Nov 9, 2010 at 6:04 AM

Hi there,

I might be missing something, but for that type of binding you need to name the list as the property. So assuming you have property in the model:

IList<someCrazyAssType> MyHumbleList { get; set; }

you will have a xaml like:

<ListBox x:Name="MyHumbleList" />

If this answers your question you should really take a look at the documentation http://caliburnmicro.codeplex.com/documentation (really good stuff in there).

Cheers,

Nov 9, 2010 at 8:43 AM

@Rdotlee
You are probably doing something "wrong"; for example, CM.Screen is not intended to be a base class for Views, but for ViewModels.