Getting access to the ViewModel from the view

Nov 9, 2010 at 11:09 PM

I'm brand new to Caliburn Micro, and fairly green on Silverlight too, so hopefully this isn't too dumb a question

I've wired up CM (which I'm loving, btw) using a view-first approach. I've wired in the Bind.Model attached property, and everything is wiring up just great.

The problem is that I want the Silverlight control to listen to some events on the ViewModel and re-broadcast them as events from the control itself. That means the control needs a viewmodel instance so it can hook up some event handlers to it.

It seems silly, but I don't know the best way to figure out *when* the view model has been set, so I can attach those event handlers. The DataContext property isn't virtual, so I can't override it. There doesn't seem to be a DataContextChanged event like there is in WPF. AFAICT CM doesn't provide any sort of notification mechanism that will tell me. Am I missing something obvious here?

Coordinator
Nov 10, 2010 at 2:02 AM

Hmm. I'm not sure what the best approach to recommend would be. Can you provide any more details? Why does the View need to "re-broadcast" events from the View-Model? Could you use the EventAggregator from your ViewModel for the same purpose? Are you switching different ViewModel instances out against the same View? or do you just need to capture a single VM instance when it is first set for the view? What is the base class for your ViewModel?

Nov 10, 2010 at 2:47 AM

The View in this case is a Silverlight control that raises events for Javascript or a Silverlight app to handle. In this specific example, it contains a ListBox, and raises its own special selection event. I think of the viewmodel/view communication as private, so currently the view code catches events from the viewmodel and converts them to "public" events. If there's a smarter way to do this, I'm certainly willing to consider it.