Is Caliburn Micro the 'right' first MVVM Framework?

Apr 26, 2011 at 5:44 PM

I am just starting out with MVVM and just wanted to ask if Caliburn Micro is unsuitable for newcomers (steep learning curve etc). 

Although I've worked for few years with C# / WPF, I havent managed to get my mind around MVVM yet.

Would just jumping right in completely confuse a newbie?

Coordinator
Apr 26, 2011 at 5:47 PM

I recommend taking some time to read the docs and go through the samples and see for yourself.

Apr 26, 2011 at 6:14 PM

Thanks, I am watching the MIX10 demo right now, and downloading the framework !

Apr 26, 2011 at 7:16 PM

Watch Rob's video, and check out what you can find from Rockford Lhotka and Laurent Buignon as well - contributions from these three gentlemen were what made MVVM 'click' for me. Lhotka's BXF is so small that you can get a good grasp of the basics required, so I'd recommend looking through his sources as well. Didn't particularly like Buignon's MVVM Light toolkit (his videos etc are fine though). Caliburn Micro is nice and pretty straightforward :)

Apr 26, 2011 at 7:19 PM

"confuse a newbie"? Absolutley Not! - I'm in the same situation, getting up to speed on MVVM. I'm a fan of conventions, the video is great. I only wish the documentation was a single (printable) download!

Apr 27, 2011 at 1:37 PM

I started MVVM using the MVVM Light framework and recently discovered Caliburn Micro. Caliburn micro is great for simplfieing the the plumbing that goes on and they both have their own learning curves.

I found with frameworks like MVVM Light the learning curve was with getting the bindings to work between view and viewmodel, relaycommands instead of click events and the more advanced things like messaging between viewmodels and event to commands.