OnInitialize, OnActivate and OnDeactivate not called when Conductor is implemented as a UserControl?

Topics: Framework Services, Getting Started
Jun 8, 2011 at 9:09 AM
Edited Jun 8, 2011 at 9:10 AM

I'm fairly new to Caliburn.Micro so I might be missing something here, but here goes...

I've been looking at AnsonSmith's Caliburn-Micro-Simple-Screen-Conductor-OneActive from github to get an idea of how I should use the Conductor functionality.

However, if I change the Bootstrapper.cs file to use my NewShellViewModel class insted of ShellViewModel and implement the NewShellViewModel class like this:

public class NewShellViewModel : Screen
    {
        public ShellViewModel ShellViewModel
        {
            get { return new ShellViewModel(); }
        }
    }

and create a view, NewShellView, like this:

<Window x:Class="SimpleConductorOneActive.Views.NewShellView"
		  xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml/presentation"
		  xmlns:x="http://schemas.microsoft.com/winfx/2006/xaml"
		  Title="MainWindow" Height="350" Width="550" Background="CornflowerBlue">
	 <Grid>
		<ContentControl x:Name="ShellViewModel"/>
	</Grid>
</Window>

and change this existing view ShellView to be a UserControl insted of a Window (and remote the Title-property from the XAML) then the ActiveItem-property of the ShellView is set correctly, but the OnInitialize, OnActivate and OnDeactivate on the RandomScreenViewModel class is never called?

What am I doing wrong here?

Jun 8, 2011 at 3:46 PM
Edited Jun 8, 2011 at 3:47 PM

when you start the app, do you see a small window with unable to locate a view or something along those lines?

Coordinator
Jun 8, 2011 at 4:29 PM
Edited Jun 8, 2011 at 4:31 PM