XamlParseException - Trying to do Caliburn.Micro Tutorial

Topics: Bugs
Jul 20, 2011 at 3:31 PM

Hello.  I'm trying to do a Caliburn.Micro tutorial (http://deanvmc.me/blog/index.php/2011/06/23/caliburn-micro-for-the-rest-of-us-part-0/) (http://deanvmc.me/blog/index.php/2011/06/24/caliburn-micro-for-the-rest-of-us-part-1/).  I'm fairly new to C#, never worked in a dev shop, and all the projects I've done have been on my own (so I may not know all the right terminology).  This is my first try at MVVM.  I started off not being able to get part 0 to work.  Apparently, selecting a WP 7.1 type project causes Caliburn.Micro to no longer work.  It put files in the directory that weren't part of the tutorial, and I couldn't ever get it to build.  After a few tries, deleting teh project and starting over, I tried a 7.0 project, and was able to get Part 0 of the tutorial to build.  Success!  (In part 0 there is no UI, so nothing to run, but it builds).

Then I tried Part 1 (the second link).  I entered the project just as directed.  When I got done, it built.  Then when I try to run it, no good.  I get a XamlParseException in the InitializeComponent method.  The stack trace follows:

System.Windows.Markup.XamlParseException occurred
  Message=System.InvalidOperationException: Creating multiple instances of PhoneApplicationService is not supported.
   at Microsoft.Phone.Shell.PhoneApplicationService..ctor()
   at System.Reflection.RuntimeConstructorInfo.InternalInvoke(RuntimeConstructorInfo rtci, BindingFlags invokeAttr, Binder binder, Object parameters, CultureInfo culture, Boolean isBinderDefault, Assembly caller, Boolean verifyAccess, StackCrawlMark& stackMark)
   at System.Reflection.RuntimeConstructorInfo.InternalInvoke(Object obj, BindingFlags invokeAttr, Binder binder, Object[] parameters, CultureInfo culture, StackCrawlMark& stackMark)
   at System.Reflection.ConstructorInfo.Invoke(Object[] parameters)
   at MS.Internal.TypeProxy.<>c__DisplayClass30.b__2a()