Status of CM 1.3 (esp. Mango support)

Topics: Getting Started
Jan 7, 2012 at 3:24 PM

Hello everyone,

I'm new to WP7 development and MVVM (as in, haven't even used Visual Studio before), but am currently in the process of designing and developing a WP7 (Mango) app for the MS Imagine Cup. A friend suggested we use MVVM and Caliburn.Micro, but from what I've gathered, the current NuGet package (and 1.2 release in general) are not 100% Mango ready. I've since looked into Catel, because they officially state they support Mango, but from the examples I looked at, I got the impression that coding using Catel is noticeably more complicated than CM.

So, my question is, do you recommend I use the latest version of CM? And if so, is there any documentation on changes from 1.2?

Of course, this is all moot if the final release of CM 1.3 is just around the corner - is there any planned release window yet?

thanks for your time,

Nils

Jan 7, 2012 at 5:54 PM

If you're starting a new WP project, you can specify WP7.0 framework first, add the Nuget package, and then convert it to a WP7.1 project. All the template-generated files are identical for both WP7.0 and WP7.1 anyway. It was just the matter of the Nuget package not recognizing WindowsPhone71 was a client profile and just installing the regular Silverlight template-generated files.

If you have an existing WP7.1 app, you can modify the Powershell script for the Nuget package that copies the files. The script file is: <packagesfolder>\Caliburn.Micro.1.2.0\tools\install.ps1

Open it with NotePad, and add the following line:

if($id -eq ".NETFramework") { $relative = "NET40" }
	elseif($id -eq "Silverlight" -and $frameworkname.Profile -eq "WindowsPhone71") { $relative = "SL40-WP" }	//<-----
	elseif($id -eq "Silverlight" -and $frameworkname.Profile -eq "WindowsPhone") { $relative = "SL40-WP" }
	elseif($id -eq "Silverlight" ) { $relative = "SL40" }