One ObjectContext for ViewModel?

Topics: Bootstrappers & IoC, Framework Services
Mar 22, 2012 at 9:14 AM

I'm learning this mvvm framework, and I find it very nice.

I'm a newbie on this mvvm world, and I have a question:
I'm building a wpf application, with List\Detail scenarios using Entity Framework, and I would like to use one objectContext for each viewModel, disposing it in the "OnDeactivate" function (when close is true).
So I created one interface called IMainServices where there are methods to retrieve or save objects and I created its implementation (called MainServices) where inside I created an object context.
So, in each view model, there will be a reference to IMainServices.

But if I register the IMainServices in the BootStrapper, I see that the MainService "will become a Singleton", and in each viewmodel will be injected the same instance of MainService and so I can't make the dispose.

A solution could be to instantiate the MainService manually inside each viewModel, but I think that it isn't a good practice...isn't it?
So, which solution should I use?

Thank you

Mar 22, 2012 at 9:41 AM

I suppose that your best option would be create MainServices as a singleton, and find a way to notify the service that the context should be destroyed.

In other terms, even if the IMainService implementation is a singleton, there is no reason preventing your from creating a context-dispose strategy.

As an example, you could acquire a token every time you need the context (e.g. view-model Initialize), realease it when needed (e.g view-model Deactivate) and have the MainService react to the token deactivation, so that once the last token is deactivated, the context gets destroyed. As you can see, this way you get a centralized service, as a singleton, but every view-model is able to influence the lifetime of the context through some instance-specific tokens.

Mar 22, 2012 at 10:04 AM

If I understood well: