Any example of changing menus and supporting closing for an 'AllActive' tabbed application?

Topics: Actions & Coroutines, Getting Started, UI Architecture
Jul 1, 2012 at 9:54 PM

I'm a CM newbie and trying to get my head around CM. I am building an application where each tab allows the user different functionality for accessing a server where the active work in all tabs (if any is active) could be running async to each other so the shell is an "Conductor<IScreen>.Collection.AllActive" which I hope was the correct choice. I am looking for suggestions or an sample in two areas -

1. I would like to have the main shell own the application menu and the tab control, and to change the  application menuitems depending on the tab selected and then have the menuitem clicks routed to the respective VM for the tab.

2. Since all tabs could potentially be doing active work simultaneously, I am hoping for an example of how the VM on each tab can participate in helping to decide (via dialogs to the user) if the application can be closed if the close menuitem or the application X icon is clicked. Or if the close should be cancelled per the user response (e.g. they say 'no' since there are unsaved files).

Any examples and suggestions much appreciated.

Thanks, Dave

Jul 2, 2012 at 3:33 PM

Well I have the closing stuff working well (after getting some more sleep and overriding CanClose in the Shell VM) but could use still some suggestions on changing menus in the shell when I switch from tab to tab changing viewmodels where the menus need to be context sensitive.

One approach I'm thinking of is to bind the main menu and supply a whole new menu set when a tab changes but I'm unclear on how to attach a "cal:Message.Attach" property with an action to a MenuItem control. Then I guess the ShellViewModel would publish a message to the TabXXXViewModel to handle the MenuItem click.

Advice on any other approach appreciated.

- Dave

Jul 3, 2012 at 4:04 AM