A Clear, Hard to Miss, WinRT Support Update

Topics: Actions & Coroutines, Bootstrappers & IoC, Bugs, Conventions, Extensibility, Feature Requests, Framework Services, Getting Started, UI Architecture
Jul 17, 2012 at 12:16 AM
Edited Jul 17, 2012 at 12:22 AM

First off, let me apologize to anyone who has been floundering around trying to figure out what's going on here. I'm sorry about that. My life's been a bit crazy lately. (working two jobs, building my own product, preparing for a massive convention, going through the international adoption process, a bunch of personal home planning stuff...oh yeah and I put together a play set for my son that had what seemed to be 10,000 pieces)

Here's the deal:

I've been working 80 hour weeks for the last six months and have no spare time to do anything...I mean I'm an avid reader but I haven't read anything...nothing at all this entire year. My contracting has been mostly non-Xaml work and the Xaml work I have been doing has not been related to WinRT. As a result, I've had almost no time to work on expanding the support for WinRT beyond what it is now.

Current Status:

Currently, the WinRT version of Caliburn.Micro supports only the most basic functionality needed to enable MVVM. It's functionally equivalent to MVVM Light. The features it supports are: ProperyChangedBase, ObservableCollection, SimpleContainer, EventAggregator and the Execute static class.  These all worked against the Consumer Preview. I have not had time to update them to the RC. There is a pull request that contains the fixes to make it work with the RC if you want to fix it for your own use. I'll try and fix that soon, but I'm really pressed for time. Seriously.

The Future: