ViewModel resolution / attachement Problem: Can't get started with WP8

Topics: Getting Started
Jan 23, 2013 at 1:32 AM

Hey,

I'm totally new to Caliburn and MVVM and IoC architectures. I'm trying to set up my first WP8 app project, the MainPage gets displayed, but the MainPageViewModel constructor is never called and trying to bind an action results in a detail-less exception..

My Code:

Bootstrapper:

namespace MensaOnWP8
{
    public class MensaOnBootstrapper : PhoneBootstrapper
    {
        PhoneContainer container;

protected override void Configure()
        {
            LogManager.GetLog = type => new DebugLogger(type);

container = new PhoneContainer(RootFrame);

container.RegisterInstance(typeof(INavigationService), null, new FrameAdapter(RootFrame));
            //container.RegisterPerRequest(typeof(TabViewModel), null, typeof(TabViewModel));
            container.RegisterSingleton(typeof(NearestMensaViewModel), "MainPageViewModel", typeof(NearestMensaViewModel));
            container.RegisterSingleton(typeof(MainPageViewModel), "MainPageViewModel", typeof(MainPageViewModel));

//container.RegisterInstance(typeof(IPhoneService), null, new PhoneApplicationServiceAdapter(PhoneService));
            ConfigureConventions();            
        }

protected void ConfigureConventions()
        {
            // Phone Controls (from the Caliburn Sample

ConventionManager.AddElementConvention<Pivot>(ItemsControl.ItemsSourceProperty, "SelectedItem", "SelectionChanged").ApplyBinding =
                (viewModelType, path, property, element, convention) =>
                {
                    if (ConventionManager.GetElementConvention(typeof(ItemsControl)).ApplyBinding(viewModelType, path, property, element, convention))
                    {
                        ConventionManager.ConfigureSelectedItem(element, Pivot.SelectedItemProperty, viewModelType, path);