Is using this MVPVM pattern with Caliburn possible?

Topics: UI Architecture
Feb 5, 2013 at 11:14 PM
I'm fairly new to desktop GUI development and have been trying to learn the concepts, benefits, and gotchas of one method over another. As I looked into MVVM, one of the complaints I saw people talking about is that you can't always eliminate the view's code behind and sometimes the VM needs to know about the view. Displaying a dialog box seemed to be one of the issues I read about.

After more reading, I saw a reference to the MVPVM pattern which seems to eliminate the view's code behind by having the presenter handle initiating things like dialog boxes while leaving the view model only handling state and totally ignorant of the view. The only thing tightly coupled and not reusable is the presenter then. This idea appeals to me and I was pleased to see that Caliburn has screens and conductors which sounded exactly what I wanted. But it seems that the conductor is still expected to be a view model that acts in a supervising controller capacity and gets auto bound to a view.

So, long story short, is it possible to use the MVPVM pattern with Caliburn? If so, would it require a lot of customization to make it work? And lastly, what might be some pros & cons of using one or the other pattern that I'm not seeing due to my inexperience?
Feb 7, 2013 at 1:24 AM
Edited Feb 7, 2013 at 1:30 AM
don't get confused with the alphabet soup that you see around the web and with various names for MVVM. MVP = MVVM they are almost completely synonymous with each other. To answer your underlying question, yes caliburn.micro can do MVVM, presentation layer is part of the architecture. You can do dialogs with CM, very easy to accomplish, many examples as well.