Dialog Managers

Apr 5, 2013 at 8:15 PM

I'm pretty new to Caliburn Micro and am trying to work through the learning curve. I've seen a lot of blogs, posts, etc about creating a "Dialog Manager / Loader" usually using IResult to display a Message Box (always a ViewModel / View to represent an old fashioned MessageBox).

I am probably missing the point, but it seems like all the methods do a pile of plumbing to do the exact same thing that WindowManager.ShowDialog(new MyMessageBoxViewModel()) does. In fact, a lot of the examples I've seen use WindowManager.ShowDIalog() at the end of their plumbing run. After code returns, you can examine the value of your MessageBoxViewModel's "Result" property and continue on.

I can see the advantage of having an "IResult Loader" for use in corutines, but to simply display a message box viewmodel, calling Coroutine.BeginExecute(DoShowDialog()).GetEnumerator() seems overkill.

Help me out, what am I missing here?
Apr 14, 2013 at 7:47 AM
One scenario we use a dialog manager yielding an IResult is to collect a file as input then display a progress dialog as it processes. This 2-step interaction works due to the result sequence processing, and the information we get from the file dialog can be much more complex (for example, file name/path, options to skip certain data, etc.) than just a message box.
Apr 14, 2013 at 9:38 PM