Splittable View

Dec 21, 2010 at 8:15 AM

Hi All,

I'm a completely newbie so... let's the question: I would like to implement a splittable view in that sense: the user can decide to split the view horizontal or vertical and, as a consequence, a new viewmodel needs to be created with a corresponding view to be displayed in some way. What is the best approach ? I suppose I have to create a custom screen conductor organizing the viewmodels in a sort of binary tree, but I'm guessing may be there is some simpler.

Thanks for any suggestion,

Felix

Dec 21, 2010 at 9:59 AM

Since the splitting orientation, as I understand your scenario, is purely an UI concern, you can avoid using different view-models just to pick up different views.
A simple solution is the following:

class SplittedScreenViewModel {

public bool HasHorizontalOrientation { get {...} set {...} } //has to implement INPC notifications

public void ToggleOrientation() {
		HasHorizontalOrientation = !HasHorizontalOrientation;
	}

public MyViewModelA MyViewModelA { get {...} set {...} } 
	public MyViewModelB MyViewModelB { get {...} set {...} } 
}
<!-- SplittedScreenView -->
<UserControl ...>

<Button Name="ToggleOrientation">ToggleOrientation</Button>
	<ContentControl ContentTemplate="{Binding HasHorizontalOrientation, Converter={StaticResource toLayout}}"

<Grid Visibility="{Binding HasHorizontalOrientation, Converter={StaticResource boolToVisibility}}">
		<ContentControl Grid.Row="0" cal:View.Model={Binding MyMyViewModelA} />
		<ContentControl Grid.Row="1" cal:View.Model={Binding MyMyViewModelB} />
	</Grid>
	<Grid Visibility="{Binding HasHorizontalOrientation, Converter={StaticResource boolToVisibilityNegate}}">
		<ContentControl Grid.Column="0" cal:View.Model={Binding MyMyViewModelA} />
		<ContentControl Grid.Column="1" cal:View.Model={Binding MyMyViewModelB} />
	</Grid>
</UserControl>

boolToVisibility and boolToVisibilityNegate are simple IValue converters turning a bool value into a Visibility value.