Reference Implementation?

Feb 10, 2011 at 3:24 AM

I apologize if this has been discussed before. I did search through the threads and didn't find anything very close.

I'm fairly new to MVVM in general, and very new to Caliburn.Micro, but not .NET programming, which I've been doing since 1.0. I'm impressed with what I see so far.

One of the pitfalls in attempting to move to WPF is that though it is not that hard to learn, it's extremely BIG. It's a daunting paradigm shift in the first place, and then the realization sets in that you can immerse yourself in one small part of it, such as Styling, only to look away from your computer screen, bleary-eyed, two weeks later. Then you notice your boss standing behind you tapping his foot. :)

My biggest problem is simply the overall "flow" of a real LOB application built on WPF. I really want to move away from the typical menu-at-the-top, tabbed-interface MDI to more of an inductive UI. I want to use VMs to mediate between the View and my business object. Etc.

But conceptually, there must still be certain abilities:

• Lists of records of a specific type that can be queried or filtered.
  • The ability to select and open a specific record to be fully populated either for view or edit.
  • The ability to associate root records with other root records (M:M, e.g. adding one or more Image root records to a Product and creating an association record).
  • The ability to show pick lists of root records from the editing screen of another record (1:M, e.g. setting the Customer on a Sale).
  • A navigation framework for more complex records that require multiple edit screens.

I have looked at the sample projects, and gleaned some ideas. Thanks for those. If anyone can point me to a fully-functioning database-backed reference application using WPF, Caliburn, POCOs as the models, and some kind of ORM tool, I would love to see it.