Content Control Very Slow vs Show Dialog?

Topics: Conventions, Getting Started
Jun 30, 2011 at 12:56 AM

I am new to Caliburn.Micro and may be missing something very basic but I can't figure out how to fix this problem.  I originally intended to show a series of views in the ShellView using a Content Control.  I set up a property in ShellViewModel for another ViewModel

public BaseCaseViewModel BaseCaseVM         
            get { return _BaseCaseVM; }
            set { _BaseCaseVM = value;
            NotifyOfPropertyChange(() => BaseCaseVM );
In the ShellView, I have the following Xaml:
 <ContentControl x:Name="BaseCaseVM" />
In my BaseCaseViewModel there is a TreeListControl.  Everything populates fine but navigating the tree is extremely slow.  To try to figure out why, I tried loading the BaseCaseViewModel in a ModalDialog and the speed is much much faster (15 sec on click to expand the tree in the Content Control vs 1 sec in the Dialog)
I then decided to render the viewModel twice using both approaches by updating the property and instantiating the dialog:
            BaseCaseVM = new BaseCaseViewModel();
            windowManager.ShowDialog(new BaseCaseViewModel());
Same result.  The Dialog View is significantly faster.
I assume there is something in the Content Control Binding that is creating the extra overhead.  Any ideas on what I'm doing/not doing that is creating this discepancy in performance?
As an aside.  The content control is bounding using the nameing convention,  I know when I bind a grid, I can overide the name convention using the ItemsSource Property.  Which property binds the ViewModel to the ContentControl?
Thanks for your help.

Jul 4, 2011 at 9:21 PM

Conventions bind VMs against cal:View.Model attached property.
Setting this property causes the execution of some CM "magic"  (like locating the corresponding View and applying conventions against the child View).