Multiple Views Same ViewModel

Topics: Getting Started
Sep 22, 2011 at 4:54 PM
Edited Sep 22, 2011 at 6:54 PM

I am new to Caliburn Micro and am trying to understand how to use View.Context to show different Views for same view model. In my WPF application, I have two views-StewPlanGenInfoView and StewPlanDetailsView that both are bound to StewPlanViewModel. Before I activate a viewmodel from shellviewmodel, I set viewmodel's actiontype property (which is the what view's context is bound to). However in my ViewLocator, I am always getting a null context and so I always get an error saying cannot find view for StewPlanViewModel.  I also implemented the custom view attribute as suggested in post  

Any help is highly appreciated.

Here is my code. 

<ContentControl x:Name="ActiveItem"                          

cal:View.Context="{Binding ActionType, Mode=TwoWay}"                             

public ShellViewModel(DashboardViewModel dashboardViewModel,IEventAggregator events)

Dashboard = dashboardViewModel;
            Events = events;

public void ShowDashboard()

public void CreatePlan()
            CurrentStewardshipViewModel = ObjectFactory.GetInstance();
            CurrentStewardshipViewModel.ActionType = ActionType.StewPlanDetails;
            CurrentViewModel = CurrentStewardshipViewModel;

[View(typeof(StewPlanGenInfoView), Context = "PlanGenInfo")]   

[View(typeof(StewPlanDetailsView), Context = "PlanDetails")]

public class StewPlanViewModel : AccomplishmentViewModel
        private ActionType _actionType;

public StewPlanViewModel(StewardshipPlanDTO currentPlan)
            : base(currentPlan)

public ActionType ActionType
            get { return _actionType; }
                _actionType = value;
                NotifyOfPropertyChange(() => ActionType);

//My custom ViewLocator in boostrapper
ViewLocator.LocateTypeForModelType = (modelType, displayLocation, context) =>