Design-time support

Topics: Getting Started
Jul 16, 2012 at 12:08 PM
Edited Jul 16, 2012 at 12:08 PM

I'm new to Caliburn.Micro and wanted to ask on the desin-time support of it.
There are several blogs and MVVM framework comparisons saying that Caliburn.Micro does not support Expression Blend and the Visual Studio designer.

This was the only blog entry I found, stating that design-time is suported by Caliburn.Micro:

Are there any docs/blog posts stating what is working on design time and what you should  not use if you work with Blend?

Jul 20, 2012 at 4:50 PM
Edited Jul 20, 2012 at 4:53 PM

OK, i got the design-time support working...

d:DataContext="{d:DesignInstance local:ShellViewModel, IsDesignTimeCreatable=True}" cal:Bind.AtDesignTime="True"

The binding conventions seem to work in Visual Studio and Blend, but the action conventions NOT.

On ICommand bindings the CanExecute method is evaluated at design-time.
It would be great if the “CanExecute” guard is evaluated at design-time too.

Is this possible???

Jul 20, 2012 at 5:55 PM

I'm not sure if it's possible. The design-time support we have is pushing the system pretty far already. Unfortunately, I have never been able to get the Blend team to discuss this need with me. They've rejected even having a conversation with me on improving anything related to design-time support. I would contact the Blend team and/or people who are in leadership positions over them and voice your concern and tell them how important this framework is to your development.

Jul 20, 2012 at 6:15 PM

Thanks for the fast response.

Sep 6, 2012 at 11:04 PM
Edited Sep 6, 2012 at 11:08 PM

I'm new to Caliburn.Micro and I'm developing on WP7.1 trying to figure out how to use sample data at design time.

I tried two different way:

1) Using DesignInstance:

<UserControl x:Class="RawTraining.ViewModels.BlogListView"
    FontFamily="{StaticResource PhoneFontFamilyNormal}"
    FontSize="{StaticResource PhoneFontSizeNormal}"