Trying to GetExportedValues before the CompositionContainer is fully constructed?

Topics: Bootstrappers & IoC, Getting Started
Jul 26, 2012 at 1:54 AM

I am pretty new to both Caliburn.Micro and MEF. My application was working fine at first, but when it passed a certain level of complexity (not very great) in terms of Export and Import attributes, this error began to manifest:

protected override object GetInstance(Type serviceType, string key)
{
    string contract = string.IsNullOrEmpty(key) ? AttributedModelServices.GetContractName(serviceType) : key;
    var exports = _container.GetExportedValues<object>(contract);

... exports.Count() subsequently being equal to 0. However, if I debug the code, the contract that the code is looking for (the <namespace>.IShell contract) is clearly present in the CompositionContainer. In fact, if I set a breakpoint on the last line of code above and then just hit F5 to let the code continue, GetExportedValues finds the exported object. It appears there's a timing issue of the sort mentioned in the subject line.

Has anyone faced this and devised a "wait and retry" loop - probably running on another thread but returning its result to the "current" thread, i.e. the one on which GetInstance was called? Or is there a better way to handle this? And how might I gain insight into why this is happening? Given that it is occurring at a very modest level of code complexity compared to what I hope to develop, I may be in for trouble, especially if I don't know what is happening and why.

Thanks!

George

Jul 26, 2012 at 5:35 AM

Further info: I got past the initial "no go" via this awful hack:

if (exports.Count() == 0)
{
    foreach (ComposablePartDefinition cpDef in _container.Catalog.Parts.AsEnumerable())
    {
        foreach (ExportDefinition exDef in cpDef.ExportDefinitions)
        {
            if (exDef.ContractName == contract)
            {
                Type contractType = Type.GetType(cpDef.ToString());