[WinRT] Loading ViewModel data async

Topics: Getting Started
Jan 24, 2013 at 12:22 PM

Hi,

I am new to CM and I'm using it for a new WinRT project.  

I have a view model which has an ObservableCollection property which is bound to my View.  Once the ViewModel is instantiated I want to load the data for the collection asynchronously.  How would I go about doing this with CM?

Before using CM I would load data in my view models by calling an async method on the relevant view model from the ViewModelLocator.

From what I understand I need to use a coroutine which is called from the OnInitialize method of the view model.  Is this correct or is there another way in CM for WinRT?  Can I just call an async method or will that not work?

Thanks

Jan 24, 2013 at 12:36 PM

OK, maybe I should have tested it first before I posted.

Seems it is as simple as marking the OnInitialize method which I override in the view model as async and then call my async LoadData method from that.  Here is a quick example of how I changed the MenuViewModel of the WinRT sample

protected override async void OnInitialize()
        {
            base.OnInitialize();

LoadData();
        }

private async void LoadData()
        {
            await Task.Delay(10000);

Samples.Clear();

Samples.Add(new SampleViewModel { Title = "Setup", Subtitle = "Setting up a WinRT application.", ViewModelType = typeof(SetupViewModel) });
            Samples.Add(new SampleViewModel { Title = "Binding Conventions", Subtitle = "Binding view model properties to your view.", ViewModelType = typeof(BindingsViewModel) });
            Samples.Add(new SampleViewModel { Title = "Action Conventions", Subtitle = "Wiring view events to view model methods.", ViewModelType = typeof(ActionsViewModel) });
            Samples.Add(new SampleViewModel { Title = "Coroutines", Subtitle = "Mix IResult and Async / Await", ViewModelType = typeof(CoroutineViewModel) });